Featured ArticlesA Selection of Articles From the Archive That We Thought Most Newsworthy

Underneath a beribboned portrait of Mr Winston Churchill and his famous V-sign, the Hon George Lambert and Mrs Lambert smilingly receive congratulations at Bideford Conservative Club, after Mr Lambert’s election as the first MP for the new Torrington Division. 

3.3.1950 Lambert Torrington MP

The Hon George Lambert and Mrs Lambert are greeted with cheers by supporters when they visit Bideford Conservative Club after the declaration of the poll. On Mr Lambert’s right is Sir Giles Sebright, chairman of the Torrington Division United Liberal and Conservative Association, and, at the top left Capt A Wilkinson, the agent. 

Hon G Lambert Becomes First MP for Torrington Division - 9,539 majority in three-cornered fight

Result of the General Election in the new Torrington Division was: The Hon G Lambert, National Liberal-Conservative 19,128; Mrs E Rashleigh, Liberal 9,589; Mr T B H Chappell, Labour 8,735; National Liberal-Conservative majority 9,539

3.3.1950 Lambert Torrington MP1

Article dated 3 March 1950

Login Form