Featured ArticlesA Selection of Articles From the Archive That We Thought Most Newsworthy

Sharp Shooter with Dart as well as Ball

Sharp Shooter Bobbie Bailey

This year's individual champion of the Appledore Darts League is Appledore A.F.C.s leading goal-scorer, Bobbie Bailey. In the final held at the Appledore Hall on Friday evening, he defeated last year's winner, Herbie Smale, by the odd leg of three.
Bailey won his place in the final by defeating his team-mate, Briian Jenkins, by two games to one. In the other semi-final Smale knocked out E. Kitto by the same margin.
Two Abbotsham players put up a strong challenge in the pairs competition but were beaten in the final. Here again two Appledore footballers succeeded in reaching the same-final stages.
The prizes were presented by Mrs. W. G. Harris, who was presented with a cut glass basket as a memento of the occasion by Mrs. J. Down.


Singles - Semi-final: R. Bailey (British Legion) beat B. jenkins (Coach) 2-1; H. Smale (Abbotsham) beat E. Kitto (Coach) 2-1. Final: Bailey beat Smale 2-1.
Pairs - Semi-finals: T. Headon and G. Jewell (Abbotsham) beat W. Ross and D. Jones (Coach) 2-1; F. Seath and R. Marshall (Champion) beat H. Hutchings and partner (Golden Lion) 2-1. Final - Seath and Marshall beat Headon and Jewell 2-1.
Team knock-out - Final: Champion B beat Coach Blues 2-1.
Salmon Cup (division I champions v division II champions) - Champion B beat Rising Sun A 2-1.
Our photograph shows a group of darts enthusiasts at the finals night.


Login Form