Featured ArticlesA Selection of Articles From the Archive That We Thought Most Newsworthy

Mr F E Whiting, who at the last annual general meeting of Bideford Camera Club was persuaded to continue as its President for one more year, relinquished that office at this year’s annual meeting and, in recognition of his services to the club, was elected an honorary life member.

29 April 1962 Frank E Whiting

Mr J D Philipp, chairman, presided at the meeting. The hon. Secretary reported a successful year, with an increase in membership, a very friendly spirit and a keen interest among members, and an increased number of monochrome prints entered in the competitions. He mentioned the club’s pleasure at the return of Miss Tuck to active membership after her long and serious illness in the previous season. There had been memorable evenings during the session, and in inter-club competitions, the Bideford club had held its own against Barnstaple Camera Club, and in the triangular contest with Minehead and Taunton, had led in both sections. Mr Badcock (hon. treasurer0 and Mr Adams (exhibition secretary) also reported a satisfactory year, the 1961 exhibition having done particularly well.

After the reports the chairman returned to Mr Whiting’s opening remarks and reminded the meeting that on the formation of the club in 1947 Mr Whiting was invited to become President, and that although heavily laden with public and other duties he had accepted, and had held the office ever since. Mr Philipp spoke of the club’s gratitude for the services Mr Whiting had rendered, and its sorrow that the time had come for him to retire. He also mentioned Mr Whiting’s achievements as a photographer over a period which began long before almost all the present members were born. In the knowledge that the club would wish its gratitude to be expressed in some way, the committee had authorised him to propose that honorary life membership of the club should be bestowed on Mr Whiting at this meeting. Seconded by Mr Beadle, the proposal was carried enthusiastically. In thanking Mr Philipp and the members for this honour, Mr Whiting assured them that although he was no longer President, his interest in the club was as strong as ever and he would still share in its activities whenever possible.

The following were elected for the forthcoming year: chairman, Mr E C Beadle; vice-chairman, Miss M J Tuck; hon. secretary, Mr H F Chadbourne; hon. treasurer, Mr F J Badcock; hon. exhibition secretary, Mr S G Adams; committee, Mr J D Philipp (ex officio), Miss C Welsh, Messrs A Chantler, J E Reynolds, G N Staniforth. At the same meeting the awards for ‘Print of the year’ and ‘Slide of the year’ were gained by two local studies – R Petherick’s ‘View of the Torridge at Bideford’ and H F Chadbourne’s slide of Appledore Pool in story. The Jolliffe Cup for the year’s work was won by J A Jeffery.

Login Form