
The Gazette was proud to announce that 2nd class Air Mechanic J E Prance of the Royal Flying Corps has been awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal for gallant conduct and valuable service. He assisted in repairing an airplane, which had been forced to descend near the firing line whilst being heavily shelled. The repair was successful and the plane flew again the following morning. Newly promoted 1st class Air Mechanic Prance is the eldest of the four sons of Mr S Prance, the Bideford Harbourmaster.
Following the death of Henry Ascott JP, the licensee of the New Inn, his executors have instructed J J Braddick to sell at auction a unique and extensive collection of carriages and stable paraphernalia from the New Inn stables. Among the vehicles advertised are 6 varnished Brakes, two of them with detachable hoods, and the two largest able to carry over 20 passengers each. There are also 2 Landaus, 2 Victorias, a waggonette, 2 dog-carts, a colt-brake and various luggage carts, as well as an extensive range of harness and tack. Mr Ascott had been the licensee from 1878 until 1914 when it was transferred to Richard G Court. The manageress in 1915 was Miss Light. Including the New Inn there are 5 Bideford hotels which continue to advertise in the Gazette each week:
The Royal Hotel is under new management. The manageress is Miss Constable and the telephone number is Bideford 5. A charge of 6d per person is made to visitors wishing to view the famous Kingsley Suite with its panelled rooms and unique ceilings. The charge does not apply to hotel residents and those taking meals in the hotel. The Hillgarden Hotel was situated in Mill Street. The proprietor, Mr W G Pearce, advertises a photographic dark-room for the use of guests and boasts that it is the only hotel in Bideford with a Bowling Green attached.
The Proprietor of the Kingsley Hotel on the Quay was Mr George Radford, but no proprietor is given for Tanton's Hotel.